cookme25

Just a site for some cool Fiction

Connecting with Writers

on 05/23/2011

So if any of you are currently subscribed to my blog or are looking for my fiction, You can skip reading the majority of this. This is a rare occasion where I write something informational. The only thing I ask you do, is leave a comment on this blog introducing yourself, feel free to say whatever. Please leave your blog address so that students can come and see your work. Please note though, I am showing this to my infotech class and will delete any comments I deem inappropriate. Thanks guys!

Okay, so if you’re not one of those people, here’s what I got for ya. I’m around, everywhere. I’m on here, twitter, a chatroom, some forums and I even have a place where I submit work every Friday. Technology is all around us and you’re constantly hearing people curse about how bad it is and that people rely on it too much.  Some of that is true, but only to an extent. There are many people using technology to connect to their audiences. Celebrities are using it to talk to their fans. Fans are using it to connect to each other. How are writers using it? We are using it to connect to each other, to people who want to read the stuff of up and coming authors, and to editors, publishers, etc who are looking for the works of the up and comings. Take a poll of 1oo authors asking them if they like paper and pencil or typing, and your results will be about 50/50. I personally use both techniques. If I get a great idea at school, its in my notebook, at least the idea is. Usual on Fridays after my homework is done, you’ll find me at my computer, typing away anxiously hoping to get my rough draft in by 9pm, 10 at the latest. I post up here and  my editor in Virginia comes in and checks it out for me. After I revise it, I head over and post it in the collector. Once I’m there, I read the two stories above and below mine. If I have nothing else going on that night, I usually go through and read the stuff of the people who are submitting their first story in there. I leave them a review with my opinion because even if its constructive criticism, it means someone took the time to read this and they think its good enough to help you out. Technology is our friend, forget the critics, forget what THEY say, this is our world. This is our future, and if technology is helping us get to where we want to go, I’m thinking we need to keep it around for awhile.

Below are some comments from actual writers who use social media. Take some time to look over them and maybe check out some of their works.

One response to “Connecting with Writers

  1. JC Rosen says:

    I love your observations! I use the intarwebz to connect to others in order to retain what sanity I have left. I’m a writer, so I use it in the ways you described. I also gain a great deal of knowledge about *how* to write, information which has improved my writing tremendously. Most of all, though, I use it to meet others with similar interests. I’ve made close friends in my *mumblemumble* years on the net. I’m housebound by my disabilities, so being able to make these connections is important to my state of mind. Believe it or not, you’re one of the people who always improves it.

    Take care,
    JC

Leave a Reply

