cookme25

Just a site for some cool Fiction

A Simple Night

on 04/10/2011

I looked around. He was supposed to be here fifteen minutes ago. Maybe he’s hurt or maybe he decided this was a mistake. I took another sip of my drink to steady myself as I sat at the bar. He was coming and we were really going to do this. After being friends since kindergarten, my best friend and I were going to be in a far different kind of relationship. I’d fallen for him years ago, while we were both in college seven years ago. Just last week, though, he’d finally asked me out on an official date, and I had been on cloud nine ever since.I hadn’t felt like this since my first high school crush, the butterflies in my stomach, scared to death, and constantly worrying about how I look. I think this is true love, or maybe its the worry that if this doesn’t work out we might not be able to stay friends. No, if it wasn’t love then I would have lost interest in him, romantically at least, a long time ago.

Oh yes, just another simple night in my love life. I was startled out of my thoughts when I heard, “I’m so sorry, I’m late. The company meeting ran longer than I thought it would. My idiot boss spent too much time yelling at the Chief Financial Officer about how screwed up the budget is and then he said he wanted to have a fire drill.”

“Isn’t it raining?” I asked

“Yup,” he said and I laughed “That’s when I snuck out and came here. I’m really sorry I’m late. I’ve been looking forward to this ever since I asked you.”

“Honestly, I’ve been looking forward to it too. Its the only thing that’s been able to get me through this week in hell.”

“How bad?”

“On Monday, I had sixty new orders to fill, for cupcakes. Thirty of them by Friday, ten of them on various throughout the week, and the rest due early next week. On top of the twenty already due this week.”

“Oh wow, I”m sorry Ash.”

“Its alright, I guess I’m glad that I hired the extra help a few weeks ago. It’s finally taking off, my childhood dream coming to life.”

“I’m glad mine didn’t come true.” We laughed and I realized how much I loved his laugh and smile, they lit up his whole face.

“I would have liked to see that, Captain America’s sidekick in his sister’s tights and leotard.” I replied

“I thought we made a promise to never mention that.”

“We did but I thought I’d bring it up just one more time. Remember when your sister found out that you were going around in her clothes. You know what I think that she still has pictures. I bet I could easily get her to find them.”

“You wouldn’t.”

“Your right, I wouldn’t. I had her make me copies years ago.”

He looked at me like he was going to die, “You did?”

“No, I’m kidding” he let out a breath and I started cracking up laughing. “You should have seen your face.”

“Bad joke, very bad joke.” he said, catching his breath,  and I started running and laughing, knowing he would follow me. I got out on the sidewalk in front of the bar when he caught up, picked me up, and twirled me around.

“I know this is bad because technically its the first date,” I started when he put me down, looking deep into his electric green eyes, “but Ben, I love you. I’ve loved you for years, since we were in college.”

He lifted me up again and kissed me. “I love you too Ash. I’ve been in love with you since we were seniors in high school. I just haven’t been able to work up the courage to ask you out until a few days ago.” He put me down and I stood on my tiptoes and kissed him again. He grabbed my hand and he hailed a cab. We got in and he gave the driver my address. I laid my head on his shoulder and we talked while the cab driver took us to my condo above my shop.

It seemed like seconds later when the cabbie pulled up to my shop.We made plans to meet for dinner during the week. Then just before I got out, I looked to Ben, kissed him once more, and whispered sweetly in his ear, “I love you Benjamin Dayton.”

“I love you too, Ashley Sullivan.” he whispered back, and with that I got out of the cab. When I tried to pay the driver, Ben pushed my hand away. “I didn’t get to buy you a beer, so its the least I can do.” I smiled at him and then walked away. As I laid in bed that night, I knew I was going to marry that boy someday.

7 responses to “A Simple Night

  1. I loved this. Lighthearted yet dealing with a serious topic. Well done!

    Take care,
    Jess

  2. alxmathayes says:

    a very fiction indeed…. and I’m also very glad that COMMANDER has launched her own fiction site. Now i can hardly wait to see of her fics…

    HAIL COMMANDER!!!!!

  3. Aidan Fritz says:

    I enjoy how well you capture a sense of young love in this piece (the chase and the thoughts that go with it). Fun read.

  4. Welcome to #FridayFlash! A nice, neat little love story. Very upbeat and positive 🙂

  5. Brainhaze says:

    Truly lively. Great debut welcome aboard 🙂

  6. Chuck Allen says:

    Such a fun read. This definitely left me with a smile on my face!

  7. Jane says:

    Such a cute story!!! Young love is so adorable!! ❤

Leave a Reply

